ASBPE Educational Foundation

ASBPE Educational Foundation Primary LogoThe ASBPE Educational Foundation, a not-for-profit 501(c)3 organization, supports education and excellence in the B2B media industry. For more information on donating to the ASBPE Foundation, please use our contact form to email the Foundation president.

Donate to the ASBPE Educational Foundation

The ASBPE Educational Foundation is able to continue its mission because of the support and generosity of B2B publishers, member journalists and others with a stake in the profession’s continuing excellence. By making a tax-deductible contribution to the Foundation, you’ll help ensure that our work continues. Programs created or supported by the Foundation include scholarships and journalism awards dedicated to advancing the quality of B2B journalism.

Online donations are quick, easy, and use secure payment processing through PayPal. We welcome donations of all sizes and payment plans – whether it’s a one-time gift, a monthly contribution or part of a matching gifts program. Thank you for considering a tax-deductible contribution.

Corporate Donors          Individual Donors

Foundation Mission Statement

The practice of business-to-business journalism is undergoing enormous change. Business editors are the key to the continued free flow of news, best practices and technical research within an industry. As trained and experienced communicators for their specialized audiences, B2B journalists must strive to stay at the center of the editorial process as content is developed for new media platforms. Meanwhile, the country’s journalism schools have been slow to recognize the key role of B2B media as a major entry point for journalists, as well as a permanent career home for many.

Through its nationwide network of professional B2B publication editors, ASBPE is ideally suited to champion educational programs that serve the B2B editing profession, and to raise the profile of the B2B journalism specialty in the media world. No other organization in the United States today focuses exclusively on the professional development of B2B editors. Seeing this need, the board of ASBPE established the ASBPE Educational Foundation as a platform for encouraging tax-deductible contributions from B2B publishers, member journalists and others with a stake in the profession’s continuing excellence. Programs created or supported by the Foundation include scholarships and journalism awards dedicated to advancing the quality of B2B journalism.

Foundation Programs

To create pathways for the continuing mastery of content delivery by B2B editors, the foundation takes a range of educational approaches. Among them:

  1. ASBPE Foundation Business Journalism Scholarship:  To support our educational mission, the ASBPE Foundation has established a scholarship fund for students in the B2B graduate journalism program at Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications.
  2. The Stephen Barr Award:  The Stephen Barr Award, funded by the Foundation, is part of ASBPE’s Azbee Awards of Excellence program, designed to encourage journalism of the highest quality within B2B publications. Each year, the Foundation awards a trophy and $500 cash prize to one Azbee-winning writer from a B2B publication.
  3. Young Leader Scholarship:  To help young editors, freelancers, designers and videographers who are just starting their B2B media careers, ASBPE started the annual Young Leaders Scholarship in 2001. The scholarship assists younger professionals who might otherwise be unable to attend ASBPE’s National Conference by covering registration, in-conference meals and hotel room costs.
  4. The Journalism That Matters Award:  This award was inspired by ASBPE’s book of the same title, which features case studies of B2B journalists whose articles brought about change within their industries. Editors may nominate themselves or a deserving colleague.

Foundation Board


Rob Freedman
Lead Editor, Legal Dive
Industry Dive
Washington, D.C.

Immediate Past President

Amy Fischbach
Field Editor, Electric Utility Operations
Transmission and Distribution World
Endeavor Business Media, LLC
Overland Park, KS

Board Members

Betsy Edgerton
Associate Chair and Associate Professor
Journalism Communication Department,
Columbia College Chicago
Chicago, IL

Roy Harris
Semi-Retired Freelancer
Hingham, MA

Carol Holstead
Associate Professor
School of Journalism, University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS

Abe Peck
Director, B2B Communication
Medill, Northwestern University
Santa Barbara, CA




2022, August 25: Paul J. Heney Becomes New President of the ASBPE Educational Foundation

2022, June 21: ASBPE Foundation Business Journalism Scholarship Awarded to Emily Dreibelbis

2022, May 13:  The 19th Annual Stephen Barr Award for Feature Writing Goes to Megan Gates

2022, April 21:  Courtney Bublé Selected for 2022 Young Leader Scholarship

2018, July 20:  ASBPE Foundation Establishes Graduate Scholarship at Northwestern’s Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications

2018, March 1:  The ASBPE Foundation Announces Plans to Award VTDigger and Its Editor with the 2018 Journalism That Matters Award

Read all ASBPE Foundation posts


Please share this page with your friends and colleagues.